Harry's Review 2026: What's Actually Worth Buying
Harry’s Original razor is the value pick: a $15 starter set and blades under $2 each in a 16-pack. The pricier Plus system has divided long-time fans, so test it before committing.
We may earn a commission if you buy through our links, once we join a brand's program. It never changes a call. How that works.
- Skip the upgrade
- Skip Harry’s Plus if the Original shaves you well. Plus blades cost about 45% more per cartridge, and many longtime users prefer the Original.
- Best time to buy
- Sets were already marked down in October, and buying in bulk is the real discount: 16 blades cut the price per cartridge by about a fifth. A subscription adds 5% off.

Harry’s makes razors in its own German blade factory and sells them direct, in stores and by subscription. There are now two systems that do not share parts: the Original, with a plastic handle and flex-hinge cartridges, and the newer Harry’s Plus, with a weighted metal handle, a spring-loaded pivot and five blades at progressive heights.
For value the answer is the Original. Its shave set was $15 in October, and a 16-pack of blades works out at $1.94 a cartridge. Plus cartridges cost $2.81 to $3.75. Plus is rated lower too, 4.4 against 4.7 on Harry’s own reviews, and its one-star reviews come mostly from longtime Original users who say the new blades shave less closely.
Each model, priced and called
Harry’s Original Shave Set
$15 Marked down from $21 in October. One-time purchase, no subscription needed.
Handle, three cartridges, gel and a travel cover for $15, the cheapest complete way into Harry’s.
The set includes an Original handle in a two-tone or chrome finish, three cartridges with a flex hinge and lubricating strip, a 4oz Foaming Shave Gel (or Shave Cream instead) and a travel blade cover. Harry’s says the cartridges are made in its German factory from Swedish steel, and it notes the Original blades are designed for faces rather than head shaving.
It beats the $10 trial set, which comes with only one cartridge and a 2oz gel. Harry’s own help center gives conflicting answers on whether that trial adds a refill subscription automatically, and the trial page had refills ticked by default. The Original’s lowest reviews mention a slippery handle and blades that dull quickly for head shavers.
Upside
- Three cartridges and full-size gel for $15
- No subscription attached
- Original blades are the best rated Harry’s makes
Downside
- Plastic handle; some find it slippery when wet
- Not recommended for shaving your head
Specs we checked
- Includes handle, 3 cartridges, 4oz gel, cover
- Cartridge flex hinge, lubricating strip
- Rated up to 16 shaves per cartridge

Harry’s Original Blade Refills
from $10 4 for $10, 8 for $17, 16 for $31 ($1.94 each).
The best-rated thing Harry’s sells, and under $2 a cartridge if you buy the 16-pack.
These refills fit only the Original handle, including older handles sold as the Truman or Winston. Pack sizes are 4, 8 and 16, and the price per cartridge falls from $2.50 to $1.94 as you go up. Subscribing takes another 5% off, with shipments every two, three or six months.
On Harry’s site they average 4.7 from 13,270 reviews, with only about 1% at one star. Those low reviews say quality has slipped, with dull blades and lubricating strips that peel after a few uses, and a few buyers found too late that the cartridges do not fit Harry’s Plus. Harry’s says it has no plans to discontinue the Original system.
Upside
- $1.94 a cartridge in the 16-pack
- Rated 4.7 from 13,270 on-site reviews
Downside
- Do not fit Harry’s Plus handles
- Some complaints of blades dulling sooner than before
Specs we checked
- Packs 4, 8 or 16 cartridges
- Fits Original handles, including Truman and Winston
- Steel Swedish, made in Germany

Harry’s Plus Value Pack
$20 Marked down from $27 in October.
The cheapest way to get the Plus handle with a useful stack of blades: five cartridges for $20.
The Value Pack pairs the Plus metal handle and rubber grip with five Plus cartridges, for the same $20 as the Plus Shave Set, which has three cartridges plus a shave cream and travel cover. Each Plus cartridge has five blades at progressive heights, a 45-degree spring-loaded pivot and a trimmer strip on the back, and Harry’s rates it for up to 21 shaves.
Harry’s pitches Plus for thicker hair or sensitive skin. If that is you, five cartridges give it a proper test inside the 30-day refund window. If the Original already works, the lowest Plus reviews suggest you have little to gain: many longtime users say it shaves less closely and that the metal handle gets slippery with soap.
Upside
- Five cartridges, more than the Plus Shave Set
- Weighted metal handle with rubber grip
Downside
- Plus blades cost more to replace
- Many Original fans say it shaves less closely
Specs we checked
- Includes Plus handle, 5 cartridges
- Pivot spring-loaded, 45 degrees
- Rated up to 21 shaves per cartridge

Harry’s Plus Blade Refills
from $15 4 for $15, 8 for $25, 16 for $45 ($2.81 each).
Five-blade cartridges for the Plus handle, at a sizable premium over the Original.
Plus refills come in packs of 4, 8 and 16, from $3.75 down to $2.81 a cartridge. Even at the best rate that is about 45% more than an Original blade, though Harry’s rates Plus for up to 21 shaves against 16 for the Original, which narrows the gap if you get that many.
The Plus family averages 4.4 from 16,027 reviews on Harry’s site, with 507 at one star. Sorted lowest first, those reviews are dominated by longtime customers who say Plus is not an upgrade: a less close shave, slower head shaving and a pivot that moves too much on the neck. Others were caught out that Plus and Original parts do not mix.
Upside
- Rated for up to 21 shaves per cartridge
- Trimmer strip on the back for edges
Downside
- About 45% dearer per cartridge than the Original
- Lowest-rated reviews say it shaves less closely
Specs we checked
- Packs 4, 8 or 16 cartridges
- Blades five, progressive heights
- Fits Harry’s Plus handles only

Harry’s Plus Annual Plan
$77 Marked down from $102; sold as a subscription shipping every 6 to 12 months.
Twenty-four Plus cartridges and two gels on a subscription, for barely less per blade than the 16-pack.
The Annual Plan bundles 24 Plus cartridges with two 6.7oz Foaming Shave Gels and ships every 6, 8, 10 or 12 months. Take out the gels at their $6 list price and the blades work out to about $2.71 each, only a dime under the 16-pack of refills, which you can buy once with no subscription.
The bigger issue is commitment. You are locking in a year of a blade that many longtime Harry’s customers dislike, and Trustpilot’s recent one-star reviews include several from people who struggled to cancel renewals or were charged for shipments they did not expect. Buy a Value Pack first and only consider this once you know Plus suits you.
Upside
- Two shave gels included
- Ships on your schedule, every 6 to 12 months
Downside
- Saves almost nothing over the 16-pack
- Ties you to a recurring subscription
Specs we checked
- Includes 24 Plus cartridges, two 6.7oz gels
- Ships every 6, 8, 10 or 12 months
- Fits Harry’s Plus handles only

The whole range on one screen
| Product | Call | Best for | Price | Key spec |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harry’s Original Shave Set | Smart buy | Starting with Harry’s | $15 | Includes: handle, 3 cartridges, 4oz gel, cover |
| Harry’s Original Blade Refills | Good buy | Existing Original handle owners | from $10 | Packs: 4, 8 or 16 cartridges |
| Harry’s Plus Value Pack | Good buy | Thick stubble or sensitive skin | $20 | Includes: Plus handle, 5 cartridges |
| Harry’s Plus Blade Refills | Wait for a sale | Committed Harry’s Plus users | from $15 | Packs: 4, 8 or 16 cartridges |
| Harry’s Plus Annual Plan | Pass | Nobody new to Plus | $77 | Includes: 24 Plus cartridges, two 6.7oz gels |
Find your model fast
- If you are new to Harry’sGet the Harry’s Original Shave SetHandle, three blades and gel for $15, with no subscription attached.
- If you already own an Original handleGet the Harry’s Original Blade RefillsThe 16-pack brings each cartridge down to $1.94.
- If you have thick stubble or sensitive skinGet the Harry’s Plus Value PackFive cartridges give Plus a fair trial inside the 30-day refund window.
What happens after you pay
- Trial
- 30-day quality guarantee: full refund if you do not love it
- Returns
- Return within 30 days of purchase for a full refund, arranged through support
- Warranty
- Not stated
- Shipping
- Free on one-time orders over $30; economy 5-8 business days, or a 2-4 day option
- Support
- Email and text message; the listed number does not take live calls
- Financing
- Not stated
Read on Harry's's US site in October 2026.
The review pile, summarized
On harrys.com, Okendo reviews give Harry’s Original blades 4.7 from 13,270 and the Harry’s Plus family 4.4 from 16,027 when we read them. Sorted lowest first, Plus complaints are mostly from loyal Original users who say the new razor shaves less closely, has a slippery metal handle and does not take their old cartridges. Original’s few one-star reviews mention dulling blades, peeling strips and missing deliveries.
Trustpilot rates harrys.com 4.4 out of 5 from 23,871 reviews, a figure that includes Harry’s UK store. Praise centers on blade quality and quick delivery. The recent one-star reviews describe subscription renewals that were hard to cancel or shipped without warning, automated support replies, and requests for a video before a razor complaint was taken up. Harry’s replies to most of them.
How the Smart Score adds up
| Part | Score | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Product | 4.0 | 35% |
| Value | 4.3 | 30% |
| Policies | 3.4 | 20% |
| Buying experience | 3.5 | 15% |
| Smart Score | 3.9/5 | |
Cheap, well-reviewed Original blades and a 30-day refund keep Harry’s high on value; mixed reactions to Harry’s Plus, subscription friction and email-only support pull it down.
If Harry's is not it
- Dollar Shave Club. Choose it instead if you want a razor plan built around subscription refills from the start.
- Gillette. Choose it instead if you want refills you can pick up in almost any drugstore or supermarket.
Quick questions
Is Harry’s Plus worth the extra money over the Original?
For most people, no. Plus cartridges cost $2.81 to $3.75 against $1.94 to $2.50 for the Original, and Plus averages 4.4 on Harry’s own reviews against 4.7. Harry’s says Plus suits thicker hair or sensitive skin and rates it for more shaves per cartridge. If you are curious, buy the $20 Value Pack and use the 30-day refund if it disappoints.
Do Harry’s Original and Plus blades fit the same handle?
No. Harry’s Plus cartridges fit only Plus handles, and Original cartridges fit only Original handles, including older ones sold as the Truman or Winston. This catches out a lot of buyers in Harry’s lowest-rated reviews, so check which handle you own before ordering refills. Harry’s says it has no plans to discontinue the Original system.
Do I need a subscription to buy from Harry’s?
No. Every product can be bought one time, with free shipping over $30. Subscriptions add 5% off, or 15% when you subscribe to three or more items, and can be changed or cancelled in your profile. Be careful with the $10 trial set: its page had refills ticked by default, and one help article says it includes a subscription automatically.
How often should I change Harry’s blades?
Harry’s help center says most people replace blades every six to eight shaves, or when they start to pull. Its product pages rate Original cartridges for up to 16 shaves and Plus for up to 21, the Plus figure assuming three shaves a week. Heavy beards and head shaving wear blades faster, which several low reviewers mention.
What we read
- Harry’s US product pages for Original and Plus razors, refills, sets and the Annual Plan, plus the trial set page, read October 2026.
- Harry’s US help center articles on returns, shipping, subscriptions, trial sets and payments, read October 2026.
- Okendo customer reviews on harrys.com for Original and Plus, lowest-rated first, October 2026.
- Trustpilot reviews of harrys.com, including one-star filtered, read October 2026.